For this assignment I watched the debate.  When it comes to politics I like to research the facts, what the candidates have voted for in the past and/or what the current president has done or is in the proceess of doing for the American people, etc.  I try to avoid commercials and debates due to the character slandering.  The debate on Tuesday October 16, 2012, presented the usual rhetoric.  Questions we asked, the candidates answered them without answering them and then also put a jab in at the other candidate.  In my opinion no question was sufficiently answered.  I know as much as now as I did before watching the debate.  Also I think it makes the person look bad that is doing the jabbing at others.  I would like to see campaigns run in a clean fashion with the facts on the table, I am in a dream world I know. 

I was surprised that in watching the debate, I realized some issues I need to learn more about.  I would like to learn more about Candidate Romney's 5 point plan, how he would hold China accountable, his past track record of women in his administration, proposed tax cut procedures, proposed immigrant trafficking, proposed ways to make America attractive for small businesses, and creating jobs with higher pay while improving the economy.  For President Obama  I would like to research the programs he has put in place; programs not pasted by the House and Senate; check the facts on improvements in the American Economy; licensing of oil drilling, higher wages, raising skills of workers, increasing border patrol, and/or improvements in the last 4 years.  A link I found to research the above is at http://www.factcheck.org/tag/campaign-2012/
Kelsey Wisotsky
10/28/2012 12:16:06 pm

Thank you for posting that fact checking link. I think that you have to watch the debate and then immediately fact check what they say. I would also like to see a clean campaign without taking jabs at the other person.

Reply
Carly Cenit
11/2/2012 06:09:43 am

I think you wrote a very good piece. I think the way the political system is developing we may never get a real debate. I thought the way the debate system is now in place it is really nothing more then a verbal ironman contest, where they turn the 1 candidates loose and allow them to verily beat each other up. Do I agree with it no, but i guess that is just how it is now.

Reply



Leave a Reply.